All posts filed under: Awards


Enter BJP’s International Photography Award 2017


One photographer will be selected by a panel of elite industry experts to receive a three-week solo exhibition at TJ Boulting, an innovative gallery in the heart of London, plus a £5000 production grant from the UK’s leading pro-lab, Metro Imaging. Confirmed judges for this year’s edition include Brett Rogers OBE (Director, The Photographers’ Gallery), Michael Mack (Founding Director, MACK Books), Nadav Kander (Photographer) Simon Bainbridge (Editorial Director, British Journal of Photography), Hannah Watson (Director, TJ Boulting), with more to be announced soon. Travel to London and hotel accommodation will be provided if the successful applicant is based outside London, allowing them to oversee the installation of their show and attend the opening night. The winning photographer will also have their work published across British Journal of Photography’s print and digital channels, and showcased globally on WeTransfer, the world’s leading file-sharing platform reaching over 80 million creatives a month. Now in its 11th year, the IPA has established itself as an invaluable gateway into the established photographic community. Previous winners include Juno Calypso, Felicity Hammond, Dominic Hawgood, …



Images of Trauma of Ukrainian Soldiers wins IAFOR Documentary Photography Award


Beating over 150 entries from more than 50 countries, all based on the theme of ‘justice’, Furman’s project focuses on the physical and psychosocial rehabilitation of young Ukrainian soldiers wounded during the ongoing conflict with Russia-backed rebels and the Russian army in the Donbass region in eastern Ukraine – a conflict which since May 2014 has taken over 9,000 lives, and injured more than 5,000 Ukrainian soldiers. “I want to concentrate on their adaptation to peaceful life when they come home, a story that gets overlooked in media outlets and existing photography projects,” Furman says. “With the limitations their physical trauma imposes on them, they have to face an important challenge. “They have to resocialise, as now they are different people with painful memories impossible to forget. With no help from the government and less financial support from patrons, they have to overcome new difficulties and seek possibilities themselves or with the support of their relatives and friends. “The Ukrainian government often neglects the contribution of these men. There are cases when war veterans’ documents read that …


From the Changing Perspectives series © Jamey Stillings

Third edition of the Syngenta Photography Award opens, with a $65,000 prize

The third Syngenta Photography Award is now open for entries and explores the theme ‘Grow-Conserve’. As the world’s population continues to increase, so does the tension between our growing demand for more food, energy and resources, and the protection of our planet. How can we manage economic, social and technological growth in a way that supports the needs of today as well as for future generations? Bold and transformative action is needed. Professional and amateur photographers from all over the world are invited to submit applications in two categories – the Professional Commission and the Open Competition. The Award prize totals $65,000 which includes a $25,000 professional commission for the first prize winner in the professional category to develop a photography project around the theme of the year. An exhibition will be held in March 2017, featuring the work of the finalists for the Award as well as images that illustrate the themes that have emerged from the submissions. Entries will be judged by a distinguished international judging panel chaired by the author and curator William …



Trevor Paglen wins the Deutsche Börse photography prize 2016

Paglen, the 42-year-old multimedia photographer from Maryland, US, who spends his days working as a geographer working out of the Department of Geography at the University of California at Berkeley, won for his work The Octopus, first shown at Frankfurter Kunstverein last summer. He sees his work as an ongoing effort “to help develop a visual and cultural vocabulary around surveillance.” The Octopus is a continuation of Paglen’s ongoing exploration into data collection, military surveillance, drone warfare and how they interlink through various, often conflicting and overlapping governmental agencies. The series shows us images of restricted military and government areas, as well as skyscapes showing the vapour trails of passing drones. The Octopus was the result of an exhaustive collaboration with scientists, astronomers and human rights activists concerned with the modern surveillance culture. The series started proper in November, 2013, when Paglen hired a helicopter to take aerial, nighttime shots of the US National Security Agency headquarters in Maryland, the National Reconnaissance Office in Virginia and the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency in Virginia. These agencies, responsible for all national security apparatus, including the deeply controversial …


Abandoned warship in the Kola Bay, Murmansk, Northwestern Region, January 2005

The 2016 IAFOR Documentary Photography Award calls for ‘Justice’ entries


In January 2015, The International Academic Forum (IAFOR) announced the launch of the IAFOR Documentary Photography Award – an award which seeks to promote and assist in the professional development of emerging documentary photographers and photojournalists. The theme of this year’s award is “justice”, launched “in the hope photographers will submit work that explores justice from a variety of perspectives.” The award partners with photography institutions including World Press Photo, University of the Arts London and British Journal of Photography, among others, and is judged by leading professionals in the field of documentary photography and photojournalism, including Founding Judge Paul Lowe (Panos Pictures/University of the Arts London), Ed Kashi (VII Photo Agency) and photographer Simon Roberts. Winners will be announced this summer at The European Conference on Media, Communication and Film, running from July 11 to July 14, 2016, in Brighton, England. The Grand Prize Winner will receive £1,000 cash award, acceptance into the Metro Imaging Mentorship Programme, and a nomination by World Press Photo for the Joop Swart Masterclass. The winner’s photography will be exhibited in the UK and …


BJP Staff